Away…

Sometimes I wish I had a secret place to hide. Some where I never feel insecure or judged. My mantra for life use to be “some people pursue happiness while others create it.” What happened to that attitude. Since when did I stop pursuing my own happiness?? When did I start accepting failure or words from people that have no clue who I am or my desires? I read my “friend’s” FB update and last night was opening night for playing Celie in the color purple!! Very exciting times for her. And I just think about how hard it must have been for her to tell her family that after undergrad and grad school she no longer wanted to be a nurse instead she wanted to quit her steady income job although she has a child to pursue music. That blows!!! Music?? That is the most uncertain thing anyone can pursue. But she busted balls because she believed in herself and now after completing her own tour she got the part to play one of the most coveted roles in Chicago. Even got a message from Danny glover telling her how awesome she is. That is awesome!!! It is mind blowing how many things you can do when you believe in yourself. She didnt need anyone but herself. Definitely has me thinking that I made the right decision. I need to just bust ass and stop accepting failure and thinking this is it for me. I use to sing this song to Elijah by Donald Lawrence which goes “oh, don’t you know. That you are called for greatness. Chosen to reign, to lead in holy boldness. I see you your failures and I know that you need answers. But those with great failures, I’ve blessed to be great winners. See yourself in future, you are royalty.” I need to stop seeing myself in the present and know that my life is greater than this. Once you envision it you can achieve it. I dare us all to see the future and recognize that we are royal. Life will be better!!

Leave a comment